The Prophet’s Mosque in Madinah received 4,000 male and female mu’takifs from 120 countries during the last 10 days of Ramadan this year, in accordance with the capacity of the areas designated for the Itikaf service, SPA reported on March 21, 2025.
SPA said the mu’takifs arrived at the designated sites for the Western roof, accessible via stairs No. 6 and 10, as well as the north-eastern section and entrance gates 24 and 25A.
The General Authority for the Care of the Two Holy Mosques provided services to ensure their worship proceeded smoothly and with ease, according to SPA.
What does it take to host thousands of worshippers from 120 countries in one place during the final ten days of Ramadan?
The authority offers a range of services, including a service desk for mu’takifs, luggage lockers, medical clinics, first aid, and translation services in multiple languages, SPA said.
Additionally, there are educational lessons, comprehensive hospitality for iftar, dinner, and suhoor, mobile device chargers, and personal care kits, according to the source.
Each mu’takif is also provided with a bracelet that facilitates easy movement to designated sites and access to services, SPA reported.
How does a single bracelet connect a worshipper to so many different services?
The Itikaf service is tied to the capacity of the areas designated for it, SPA said, and the 4,000 mu’takifs were received in line with that capacity.
The source listed the Western roof, the north-eastern section, and entrance gates 24 and 25A as the designated arrival points, with stairs No. 6 and 10 leading to the Western roof.
Why do the final ten days of Ramadan draw such a multinational group to Madinah?
SPA described the services as covering worship needs from arrival through daily meals and medical support, including translation in multiple languages for mu’takifs from 120 countries.
The hospitality mentioned in the source covers iftar, dinner, and suhoor, alongside educational lessons and personal care kits.
What does a day of seclusion look like when meals, lessons, and medical care are all arranged on site?
The authority’s service desk and luggage lockers address the practical side of arrival, while medical clinics and first aid address health needs, according to SPA.
Mobile device chargers and personal care kits are also part of the offering listed by the source.
How many languages must a translation service cover when mu’takifs come from 120 countries?
SPA did not specify the number of languages available for translation, the exact dates of the last 10 days of Ramadan this year, or the total capacity of the designated Itikaf areas.
The source also did not detail the process for selecting or registering the 4,000 mu’takifs, nor the national breakdown of the 120 countries represented.
What happens behind the scenes to prepare the Western roof and the north-eastern section before the mu’takifs arrive?
The bracelet system, as described by SPA, facilitates movement to designated sites and access to services, tying the logistics of the Itikaf stay to a single item carried by each mu’takif.
With iftar, dinner, and suhoor provided, the hospitality element runs across the full daily schedule of the last 10 days of Ramadan.
How does the presence of 4,000 mu’takifs from 120 countries shape the atmosphere of the Prophet’s Mosque during these nights?
The General Authority for the Care of the Two Holy Mosques is the body named by SPA as providing the services, from the service desk to the medical clinics and translation support.
The source framed the reception of the mu’takifs as being in accordance with the capacity of the areas designated for the Itikaf service.
What does it mean for a worshipper to stay in seclusion for the last 10 days of Ramadan, and how do the provided services support that stay?
SPA listed entrance gates 24 and 25A alongside the north-eastern section and the Western roof stairs as the access points for the mu’takifs.
The educational lessons and translation services in multiple languages point to a structured program alongside the worship, according to the source.
Why would luggage lockers and mobile device chargers matter for someone in seclusion for the final ten days?
The source did not include statements from officials, the cost of the services, or the number of staff involved in running the Itikaf operation.
It also did not say how the 4,000 figure compares with previous years or how the 120 countries were counted.
What questions remain about how the bracelet system works in practice across the designated sites?
For the mu’takifs, the services described by SPA cover arrival, movement, meals, health, translation, and personal care, all within the areas designated for Itikaf at the Prophet’s Mosque.
How many mu’takifs did the Prophet’s Mosque receive and from how many countries? The Prophet’s Mosque received 4,000 male and female mu’takifs from 120 countries during the last 10 days of Ramadan this year, according to SPA. The reception was in accordance with the capacity of the areas designated for the Itikaf service. The mu’takifs arrived at the designated sites for the Western roof, accessible via stairs No. 6 and 10, as well as the north-eastern section and entrance gates 24 and 25A, SPA said.
What services did the General Authority for the Care of the Two Holy Mosques provide to the mu’takifs? SPA said the authority provided a range of services, including a service desk for mu’takifs, luggage lockers, medical clinics, first aid, and translation services in multiple languages. There were also educational lessons, comprehensive hospitality for iftar, dinner, and suhoor, mobile device chargers, and personal care kits. Each mu’takif was also given a bracelet that facilitates easy movement to designated sites and access to services, according to the source.
Where did the mu’takifs arrive at the Prophet’s Mosque? According to SPA, the mu’takifs arrived at the designated sites for the Western roof, accessible via stairs No. 6 and 10, as well as the north-eastern section and entrance gates 24 and 25A. The authority provided services to ensure their worship proceeded smoothly and with ease. The reception was in accordance with the capacity of the areas designated for the Itikaf service, the source said.
What is the role of the bracelet given to each mu’takif? SPA reported that each mu’takif is provided with a bracelet that facilitates easy movement to designated sites and access to services. The bracelet is listed alongside other services such as the service desk, luggage lockers, medical clinics, first aid, translation services, educational lessons, hospitality for iftar, dinner, and suhoor, mobile device chargers, and personal care kits. The source did not detail how the bracelet system works in practice.
What did the source not specify about the Itikaf service this year? SPA did not specify the number of languages available for translation, the exact dates of the last 10 days of Ramadan this year, or the total capacity of the designated Itikaf areas. The source also did not detail the process for selecting or registering the 4,000 mu’takifs, nor the national breakdown of the 120 countries represented. It did not include statements from officials, the cost of the services, or the number of staff involved.