The Saudi Central Bank (SAMA) has licensed “ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA” company to provide finance aggregation services, bringing the total number of licensed companies offering these services in Saudi Arabia to five. The licensing decision was announced in a press release issued on March 23, 2025, from Riyadh.
SPA reported that with ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA now holding a license, the number of authorized finance aggregation service providers in the Kingdom has reached five companies. The move adds another licensed entity to a sector that SAMA oversees as part of its regulatory mandate over financial institutions operating in Saudi Arabia.
Finance aggregation services allow licensed companies to consolidate a customer’s financial information from multiple institutions, giving users a unified view of their accounts and obligations. Is it any wonder that regulators see this as a tool for improving how consumers interact with their financial data? The licensing of a fifth company suggests that demand for such services is being met with a growing supply of authorized providers.
In its press release, SAMA stated that this decision reflects its endeavor to support the financial sector, increase the efficiency of financial transactions, and promote innovative financial solutions for financial inclusion in Saudi Arabia. The central bank framed the license as part of a broader effort to advance the financial sector’s capabilities.
What does increased efficiency in financial transactions mean for everyday users in the Kingdom? According to SAMA, the licensing of finance aggregation companies is intended to contribute to that efficiency, alongside promoting innovative financial solutions. The press release did not detail specific mechanisms or timelines for how these outcomes would be measured.
SAMA also emphasized the importance of dealing exclusively with authorized financial institutions. The central bank directed the public to its official website to view the list of licensed and permitted financial institutions. Why would SAMA stress this point in the same announcement? The emphasis suggests that unauthorized providers may exist, and the central bank wants consumers to verify the status of any company before engaging with it.
The licensing of ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA brings the count of licensed finance aggregation service providers to five. SAMA did not disclose the names of the other four licensed companies in this press release, nor did it provide details about the licensing process or the criteria that ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA met to obtain the license.
The announcement was issued on March 23, 2025, with a local time stamp of 18:56 and a GMT time stamp of 15:56. The press release originated from Riyadh. SAMA’s statement was carried by the Saudi Press Agency.
What does the licensing of a fifth finance aggregation company signal about the maturity of this segment in Saudi Arabia? The central bank’s press release presents the decision as consistent with its objectives for the financial sector, but it does not offer an assessment of the market’s current size or future trajectory. The number five is the only quantitative detail provided about the licensed companies.
Finance aggregation, as a service category, sits within the broader financial technology landscape that SAMA regulates. The central bank’s reference to “innovative financial solutions” and “financial inclusion” places the licensing decision within its stated priorities for the sector. How these priorities translate into specific benefits for consumers or institutions is not elaborated in the press release.
SAMA’s instruction to deal exclusively with authorized financial institutions serves as a consumer protection reminder. The central bank maintains a list of licensed and permitted institutions on its official website. Why is it important for consumers to check this list? Because dealing with unauthorized entities may expose them to risks that licensed institutions are regulated to avoid.
The press release did not include the names of the other four licensed finance aggregation companies, the date the license was granted to ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA, or any statement from company officials. It also did not specify the types of financial institutions whose data can be aggregated or the technical standards that licensed companies must follow.
What might prompt SAMA to license additional finance aggregation companies in the future? The central bank’s stated objectives of supporting the financial sector and increasing transaction efficiency suggest that the licensing framework is open to qualified applicants. However, the press release does not indicate whether more licenses are under review or what the expected total number of licensed companies might be.
The announcement comes amid ongoing development of Saudi Arabia’s financial sector, though the press release does not place the licensing decision in the context of any specific initiative or program. SAMA’s role as the central bank includes licensing and supervising financial institutions, and the finance aggregation license falls within that supervisory scope.
For consumers, the practical takeaway from SAMA’s statement is to verify that any finance aggregation service provider they consider using appears on the central bank’s list of licensed and permitted institutions. The press release directs readers to SAMA’s official website for that list. Does the average consumer know how to find and check that list? SAMA’s emphasis suggests it wants to make sure they do.
The licensing of ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA is the sole company named in the press release. The other four licensed companies remain unnamed in this announcement. SAMA did not provide a breakdown of when each of the five companies was licensed or what services beyond finance aggregation they may offer.
What does SAMA’s focus on financial inclusion mean in practice for unbanked or underbanked populations in Saudi Arabia? The press release mentions financial inclusion as one of the objectives behind the licensing decision, but it does not describe how finance aggregation services specifically advance that goal or which segments of the population stand to benefit most.
The press release was issued in Riyadh and carried by SPA. It includes SAMA’s statement about supporting the financial sector, increasing efficiency of financial transactions, and promoting innovative financial solutions. It also includes the central bank’s reminder about dealing only with authorized institutions and the direction to its website for the list of licensed and permitted institutions.
How often does SAMA update its list of licensed and permitted financial institutions? The press release does not say. It simply points readers to the website as the authoritative source. For anyone considering a finance aggregation service, that list is the reference point SAMA provides.
The announcement does not include any information about ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA’s ownership, leadership, or operational history. It does not state when the company applied for the license or how long the approval process took. It also does not describe the company’s planned service offerings or target market.
What distinguishes finance aggregation from other financial services that SAMA regulates? The press release does not define the service or contrast it with other categories. It treats finance aggregation as a known service type and focuses on the licensing decision and the resulting count of five licensed companies.
SAMA’s press release concludes with the reminder to visit its official website for the list of licensed and permitted financial institutions. The central bank’s message is clear: authorization matters, and consumers should confirm it before engaging with any provider. The licensing of ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA adds one more name to that authorized list, bringing the total to five.
How many companies are licensed to provide finance aggregation services in Saudi Arabia? SAMA stated that with the licensing of ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA, there are now five licensed companies providing finance aggregation services in Saudi Arabia. The press release did not name the other four companies or provide details about when they were licensed. The number five is the only quantitative figure SAMA included in the announcement, which was issued on March 23, 2025, from Riyadh and carried by the Saudi Press Agency.
What reasons did SAMA give for licensing ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA? SAMA said the decision reflects its endeavor to support the financial sector, increase the efficiency of financial transactions, and promote innovative financial solutions for financial inclusion in Saudi Arabia. The central bank framed the license as part of its efforts in these areas. The press release did not provide specific metrics or timelines for measuring how the licensing of a finance aggregation company would achieve these stated objectives, nor did it describe the company’s planned services.
What did SAMA say about dealing with financial institutions? SAMA emphasized the importance of dealing exclusively with authorized financial institutions. The central bank directed the public to its official website to view the list of licensed and permitted financial institutions. This reminder was included in the same press release announcing the licensing of ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA. SAMA did not explain what risks consumers might face if they deal with unauthorized providers, but the emphasis suggests the central bank wants the public to verify authorization status before engaging with any financial institution.
What details about ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA did SAMA provide? SAMA named ALANNAYA AL-YATMANIA as the company receiving the license to provide finance aggregation services. The press release did not include information about the company’s ownership, leadership, operational history, or when it applied for the license. It also did not state the date the license was granted or describe the company’s planned service offerings. The announcement focused on the licensing decision and the resulting total of five licensed companies in Saudi Arabia.
Where can the list of licensed financial institutions be found? SAMA directed the public to its official website to view the list of licensed and permitted financial institutions. The press release included this direction alongside the reminder to deal exclusively with authorized institutions. SAMA did not state how often the list is updated or what information it contains about each institution. The central bank’s instruction to check the website serves as a consumer protection measure, allowing individuals to verify whether a financial institution is authorized before engaging with it.